Some things just stick with you.

The runes from the appendix in “Lord of the Rings”. The ‘g’ is circled for Gandalf. More on that later. Image from forums.lotro.com

Good stories. Good friends. Good memories.

My name, Balecirithiel, has to do with all of those things. A lot of people have asked me where my name comes from, and what it means. The simple answer is that I plugged my real name into an elvish name generator at some point in high school, and it spit Balecirithiel out. That’s all there was to it.

But it means a lot more to me than a simple screen name.

I love Tolkien, “The Lord of the Rings” and Middle Earth so much, I can’t even imagine my life without them. Literally. I don’t remember a time where I didn’t know the stories of the one ring, Frodo and Bilbo. I do remember talking to my dad about how cool the movies looked, and how excited my whole family was for the first movie. And I do remember how much closer it brought me to many of my friends in high school.

We all plugged our names into that same name generator; we taught ourselves to write Dwarfish runes; a couple of my friends even learned how to write and speak Elvish; and we had not just one, but several, marathons of the extended editions of “The Lord of the Rings”. (A friend even brought her life-size Legolas cardboard cutout along for the ride. Swoon.) And one of my absolute best friend’s Elvish name was Enweth, and she is still in my phone under that name, even though we haven’t used them in years.  She and I FILLED my planner sophomore year with notes in Dwarfish. We felt so cool. And at one point we even created our own code together.

So when Astro asked me what I wanted to go by on “The Nerd Maids” I immediately thought of Balecirithiel. It’s not only nerdy, but it means a lot to me too. And it’s all mine.

I mean it. If you google ‘balecirithiel’, the only things that come up are links to very old posts of mine in message boards at the height of my Balecirithiel usage. I’m really excited to be bringing it back, and only slightly embarrassed that my “Harry Potter” fanfiction comes up too.

What can I say? I’m really nerdy, and always have been.

– Bale(cirithiel)

Bale WordPress Sig

3 responses to “Some things just stick with you.

    • well. I don’t know how to properly write the phonetic version of it, but bah-leh-kir-ith-ee-el is as close as I can get. And bonus:here is a very useful link to pronouncing elvish words in general. 😀 – B

Leave a Reply

