That’s what I’m Tolkien about.

Photo by Stojanoski Slave (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)], via Wikimedia Commons

Photo by Stojanoski Slave, via Wikimedia Commons

When I told you about the origins of Balecirithiel I told you a little bit about how big of a “Lord of the Rings” fan I am. I love Tolkien. He’s among my favorite authors and heroes. Anyone who can create multiple languages deserves mad props, in my opinion.

But I have to admit, I’m probably not the most obvious Tolkien fan, nor the most dedicated. I love him, yes. But I don’t actually own all of Tolkien’s books; I haven’t read “The Silmarillion”; I don’t have a tattoo of his initials; I can’t actually speak Elvish; and I don’t even own the extended editions of the movies — my parents do. Blasphemy, I know.

The things I do have going for me are my love of runes, my name and the fact I have “The Lord of the Rings” in English and in German. (I even wrote a book report about LotR in German, which should give me bonus points, I think.) Oh, and the fact the only board game my family can play together without fighting is “The Lord of the Rings Trivia”. But that’s probably because we all know my dad will win.

But lately I’ve been wanting to reignite my passion for Middle Earth. Suddenly I’m not content with my passive love of Tolkien. When I went to “The Hobbit” (at midnight, of course) I realized I don’t actually know as much about Tolkien’s world as I would like. Besides “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings”, I have only read one of the appendices (the one about runes); for a self-proclaimed Tolkien-lover, that’s kind of sad.

So I’ve decided I’m going to read “The Silmarillion”, and take you guys along for the ride. I haven’t read it yet because I’ve heard it’s rather slow going. But, if I have my readers at my back, I’m sure I can get through it. And you guys will get all the benefits and history lessons of Middle Earth without even cracking open the book. Lucky you! It’s going to be a team effort, here.

And who knows. Maybe one day I’ll join the Tolkien Society, and become the ultimate nerdmaid.

All for now,
Bale

Bale WordPress Sig

ps. An elf walked into a bar, the hobbit laughed and walked under it. (I’ve been laughing for days from that joke.)

4 responses to “That’s what I’m Tolkien about.

  1. I always love the passion and excitement and dedication of true Tolkien fans. That’s probably why I let my boss at work drone on so much about it (I swear, he must’ve gone to a school somewhere that teaches Middle Earth history).

    Sadly though, a lot of my love for his work hasn’t grown up with me over the years. I love and respect everything he wrote. I even recognize how pioneering it was, and how his work is a major part a lot of the gaming culture and other fantasy books that I still love deeply.

    Still, there is a certain dry simplicity to all of that detail. I need to find a way to re-kindle my love of Tolkien.

    • It is impressive how influential the books were though. Tolkien definitely changed fantasy writing a lot. And your boss sounds awesome! haha. but seriously, I am excited to learn more. I hope you can find a way to re-kindle your Tolkien love… Watching the extended editions always reminds me how much I love them. And hopefully reading the Silmarillion will be fun. You could always read with me! – B

Leave a Reply

