Identity crisis.

Ok guys. Truth time: I’m not really sure what direction “The Nerd Maids” will take going forward.

As I mentioned before, I’m not really into all the things Astro is, so posts will probably become less diverse. I’m only one nerd, after all! But I also figure that now is the perfect time to see what you guys, the awesome readers of “The Nerd Maids”, actually want to read. So if you would take a moment to give me an idea of what you want by taking the poll and/ or commenting with ideas, I would really appreciate it!

I’ve already gotten an incredible amount of support from you guys, and I can’t even say how thankful I am for that. Seriously, you guys rock. Especially “The Nerd Maids” biggest fan (whom I’ll call K)… K has been cheering me (and Astro, too) on since the beginning. And when she found out Astro left, she jumped in and immediately offered to help me come up with ideas. By her doing that, it made me realize that I have a whole support group out there already, and lots of people who’d probably be willing to shoot me ideas. So seriously, comment, or if you want extra bonus points, send me an email at nerdmaids@gmail.com.

Me and K at FNM a couple weeks ago. She's one incredible girl, and is full of great ideas! :)

Me and K at FNM a couple weeks ago. She’s one incredible girl, and is full of great ideas! 🙂

In the meantime, I’ll continue writing about Magic, and trying to get through enough of “The Silmarillion” to actually write a thoughtful reflection. (I haven’t forgotten about that project, I promise!)

All for now,
Bale

9 responses to “Identity crisis.

  1. I read blogs for serious, passionate discussion about topics that I might not normally read or from perspectives entirely foreign to mine. In other words, write what you love and I will read it.

    • Good point! That’s why we started the blog in the first place, because we love nerdy things. And I love reading posts on other blogs that I can tell the blogger is really passionate about. Plus, writing about what you love is definitely easier than trying to force something.

      Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

      • I just don’t want to see you to be someone you are not just because priorities have changed. What you do now works, so I think keeping at that is the best option, No crisis needed!

      • Thanks, Tyler! I will definitely be true to myself. I wasn’t planning any drastic changes, just trying to figure out what I want to post about besides Magic. 🙂

  2. Honestly, if you keep writing about what you enjoy, a lot of the other situations will take care of themselves. Whether that’s something you continue on your own — or with another person or people to fill the gaps — is entirely up to you, but I would recommend sticking to topics that you truly care about. Your writing will always be stronger that way, and not only will you enjoy the process more, but your audience will continue to grow.

    • Thanks for the advice! 🙂 I think I was putting a lot of pressure on myself to continue to make it as diverse as it was when Astro was writing because some readers might have been coming to read her posts specifically. I didn’t want to let them down. But it’s more important that I continue to enjoy it. And my writing is definitely stronger when I enjoy the topic!

      Thanks again
      -B

  3. Pingback: FNM recap: May 31… Pick a pack makes my brain hurt. | Nerd Maids·

Leave a Reply

