Street cred: Tolkien style.

Stephen Colbert, James Franco and I have something in common. We all know the names of at least a few of the Valar.

OK, OK. I probably don’t have quite the same amount of Tolkien street cred as Colbert. And probably not even as much as Franco. But I do know who the Valar are, even if I can’t really pronounce all their names and I haven’t actually read any farther in “The Silmarillion” than the first book. But that should get me at least a little, right?

I know that the Valar Colbert so expertly rattled off were very powerful and sound pretty badass. They sound very similar to the Greek or Roman gods, which makes a lot of sense. “The Silmarillion” is supposed to be the mythology of Middle Earth. For example, Arda (Middle Earth) was supposedly made through a really cool song that the Ainuar sang. The Ainuar were created by Ilúvatar, and later became the Valar when they were given the option to go down to Arda.

I know that Melkor (later called Morgoth) first started creating dissonance in the world when the Ainuar were singing — he was the greatest among them, and was able to think for himself and see more parts of the song. Ilúvatar put him in his place then, though. But he was still a jerk, and when all the other Valar were trying to create Arda, he was busy tearing down the mountains, filling up the canyons and just basically being all “NOPE, you want a cool landscape? TOO BAD.”

So that adds up to some Tolkien street cred, right? I’m no Colbert, but I’m getting there.

“The Silmarillion” has been pretty slow going so far. But it’s starting to pick up a little, and I’ve gotten used to the style of writing. I’m excited to read more about the Valar and the old, very powerful world. I’ve hear that there are epic battles between Balrogs and single elves. I’m imagining a crazy one-on-one tooth and nail fight.

I guess I’ll just have to read more to find out.

All for now,
Bale

2 responses to “Street cred: Tolkien style.

  1. I adore Tolkien’s world building, but his prose sucks the energy out of me like I am a puddle and the book a fantastic sponge. One sentence of his, and I feel like I’ve actually walked the distance it mentions, both mentally AND physically.

    • That’s a pretty good description of Tolkien’s prose, especially in The Silmarillion. It’s incredibly detailed and wonderful, but it takes a while to get through.

      I’ve had to stop and reread several paragraphs before, just to make sure I’d gotten everything from them. But I still love it!

Leave a Reply

