Breaking the cycle.

It’s time for a change.

I love “Nerdmaids” and I’ve put a lot of work into it, which has made it the most successful blog I’ve ever been part of. I’m very proud of everything I’ve done to this point. Sure, in a perfect world I would have been posting 100 percent consistently, but running a one woman show is hard. Especially if you’re writing everything from scratch and scrambling for posts. And because of that, writing for “Nerdmaids” has started to feel like I’m treading water. The blog is continuing, I’m still writing, but nothing is changing. And while this has been fine for the past few months, lately I’ve realized that I want more.

I want more readers. I want more unique content. I want higher-quality posts. I want to expand my content. I want, I want, I want. But how do I get there?

I’ve been thinking about an answer all week. I have a lot ideas floating around in my head, and I think if I give myself proper time to develop them, they could turn into great things. But in my current posting cycle, it would be impossible to take the time to really work on them. I don’t have any drafts at the moment, so every post is written and published in the same day. It makes it impossible to take the time to really work on a post, which means the quality of my writing takes a hit. But I’ve been telling myself that it’s important to get the posts up to keep my readers and so I don’t let them down. But that’s a cop out. I realized that if I really value my readers, I would take the time to create the best content possible for them.  Especially if I want my blog to continue to grow and develop.

But that means it’s time for some pretty drastic measures. I can’t just turn “Nerdmaids” into my vision overnight. And I can’t even do it in a day or two. I need time to write posts without having to worry about publishing them, and I need time to develop a stock pile of already-written, high-quality posts to publish so I can continue to write posts  without the pressure of publication upon completion.

So for the time being “Nerdmaids” is going to go on a publishing hiatus. I’m going to continue writing posts and developing content, and once I feel like I have enough strong posts to start fresh and continue a better writing/ publishing cycle, I’ll start publishing them. Unfortunately, I don’t know how long this will take. But I do promise to return.  And when I do, it will be awesome, and hopefully with some reinforcements.

I’ve been trying to convince myself for a while that I can make “Nerdmaids” everything I want it to be on my own. But to be honest, it’s hard to do everything by myself. I was spoiled at the beginning because I had Astro’s help, which was wonderful. She brought a completely different aspect to the blog, and her posts about Harvest Moon and Gurren Lagan still bring readers. All I write about is Magic and books, which are both topics that I love, but definitely not the only nerdy things girls love. I won’t ever write about the new Pokemon games because I’ve never been into it. But I know there are a whole lot of people that do care, and would probably read a post or two about all the cool features. And that there might be a girl out there willing to write one for me.

This is my humble cry for help. So girls, if you want to write for “Nerdmaids”, I’d be happy to let you. All you have to do is email me at nerdmaids@gmail.com and tell me what you’d write about, and provide a sample of your writing. Or just send me a post. I’m open to pretty much anything, as long as it’s well-written. And guys out there, if you know someone who might like to write for me, please pass the word on. I want to get as many ‘nerdmaids’ writing for the blog as possible! And if you just want to write one guest post, that’s totally fine too. Just let me know when you email me. You’d still get to be an honorary ‘nerdmaid’.

Seriously. Any questions, just comment or email me at nerdmaids@gmail.com. I want “Nerdmaids” to be the best blog possible, and I can’t do it on my own!

All for now,
Bale

How do you keep posting quality content? Do you stick to a schedule or just post when you can? 

5 responses to “Breaking the cycle.

  1. Even though the subject matter hasn’t always been something I am actively into, I’ve long been a fan of your work. You write well and bring a different perspective and different interests to my Blogroll. I am always looking for new opportunities to do editing work, so if you do find a more refined series of posts to write, I would be glad to read or discuss them with you before they go live.

    As for tips and suggestions, I tend to keep a mix of things I have planned ahead of time, that will take more writing and editing effort that I mix in with things I’ll write on the spot the day of. Lately, it has been a lot more of the latter, but I’ve done researched articles in the past that took days and got great feedback. It’s all a matter of balance.

    The other key thing is you have to be active in your community. You may not find someone who fits your exact niche of books and Magic, but I am sure there are blogs for either. I’ve found the more blogs I read, comment on, and share with others, the more fun I have with blogging in general. Even if I quit tomorrow, I’d have a great repertoire of Twitter friends to continue discussing my favorite topics with, as well as occasionally writing guest posts for.

    But yeah, though I enjoy what you’ve been writing, I understand taking time to regroup. I (and I assume the rest of your fans) will be here when you get back!

    • Thank you so much for the support! I really appreciate it. Finding a balance has been a struggle for me, which is why I’ve decided to take this time to regroup.

      I might just take you up on the offer to edit some of my bigger posts. It’s always helpful to have another eye look at your writing. Often they catch things I never would.

      As for being more active in the blogging community, I’m working on that as well. My twitter had been somewhat neglected, but I’m making an effort to do more with that, and comment on more blogs. Because you’re definitely right — there are a lot out there that post content I’m interested in.

      Thanks again for the support and encouragement 🙂

  2. Looking forward to the new version. I personally think you do a great job already. I enjoy the content. The biggest thing I noticed for my own blog is that I was so concerned with blogging regularily that I was posting boring, nonsense. I’ve found that I get more responses if I have quality content and not just consistent posting. Take your time and post the things that matter to you. Don’t worry about how often you post.

    • Thanks! I completely agree with your observation about getting more responses on quality content. I was posting fairly consistently for a long time, but only had a few comments. The comments were almost always on posts I’d put more time into.

      I’m excited to get working on the “new” version and get it up for you to read. And I’m very grateful for the support 🙂

  3. I tend to stick to a schedule, but it also means I have to post once a week. I tried doing a post every single day, but it became too much for one person to do. I stuck to the one post a week format since it worked for me and my schedule. It also helps me to focus on one good post for a week. I also try to get a head start on posting during the week so when my scheduled post day comes, all I have to do is edit and then publish. Whatever you decide to do, do what you think works for you and your blog. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

